Login ↓      Francais      English
African Civil Aviation Commission
Transforming African Aviation

The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of all 55 countries on the African continent. It was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

It was launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states. The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa.

AFCAC was created by the Constitutive Conference organized by ICAO and the Organization of African Union (OAU), now African Union Commission (AUC) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in 1969. AFCAC became a Specialized Agency of the OAU now African Union on 11 May, 1978.
AFCAC is a self-governing organization in which all the African members of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) can be become members. The AFCAC Constitution was adopted in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on 17 January, 1969 and revised on 16 December, 2009 in Dakar, Senegal.

AFCAC is the Executing Agency of the Yamoussoukro Decision (YD). AFCAC in this regard is also entrusted with the responsibility of seeing to the establishment of a Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM) through the full implementation of the YD in line with the AU Agenda 2063.


The Commission is the Secretariat of the Union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 Officials: A Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; Eight (8) Commissioners and Staff members. The structure represents the Union and protects its interest under the auspices of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government as well as the Executive Committee. The AU Commission is made up of Portfolios. They are: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.

The mission of the Commission is become “An efficient and value-adding institution driving the African integration and development process in close collaboration with African Union Member States, the Regional Economic Communities and African citizens”.

The values to guide and govern the functioning and operations of the Commission are:

  • Respect for diversity and team work;
  • Think Africa above all;
  • Transparency and accountability;
  • Integrity and impartiality;
  • Efficiency and professionalism; and
  • Information and knowledge sharing.

The Commission will endeavour to fulfil its Mission by developing clear goals and strategies. The values indicated above will constitute the basis on which the AUC will achieve its Mission. They will also encourage the development of a service culture for the entire organization.

The Commission will be guided by the following principles:

  • Subsidiarity and complementarity with other Organs, Member States and RECs;
  • Results orientation, feasibility and impact focus;
  • Close coordination and cooperation with the RECs;
  • Coherence of policies and programmes; and
  • A networking approach that takes advantage of available resources through other players.

Guided by these values and principles, the Commission will endeavour to achieve its Mission through implementation of clear goals and strategies and by committing the requisite resources for effective discharge of its mandate. This would require the AUC presenting specific proposals to give full effect to its texts, and bring new possibilities and benefits to the citizens of Africa.


AFCAC | African Civil Aviation Commission
© Copyright 2022 AFCAC   |   LinkedIN   |   Twitter   |   Legal   |   Privacy